top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Social Icon

Pumpink??! Duhh...

Pumpink what??? That was my reaction when I first heard that word. Yes, it is a color, like the color of the hat on this blog. Yep, you guessed it right - the color is Pumpink! You might want to argue that it is simply Pink or Fuschia or Purple. But, it's Pumpink, at least according to my 4-year old daughter.

You see, my daughter, who wants to be called Queen, started enjoying YouTube on iPad when she was like, 6 months old. But, don't get me wrong, I'm not the kind of parent who uses mobile gadgets to keep their child busy and get some freedom. I was showing her music videos from Les Miserables, particularly the songs, I Dreamed a Dream and On My Own, and Annie's "Tomorrow". I'm a frustrated singer, and I'm hoping she will fulfill that dream I dreamed for me.

When Queen turned 1, she started tapping on the screen and discovered that tapping can take her to other videos. Luckily, the videos that came up were still wholesome and musical in nature, appropriate for her age. So you see, I'm monitoring what she views on YouTube.

When Queen turned 2, she was mostly tapping than watching,

hence, discovered more videos. That time, she was introduced to the videos of toys and cartoons.

One day, in one of our learning sessions, I was teaching her about colors. She already learned the primary colors, Red, Yellow, and Blue. That, and Pink. As a girl, I guess pink IS the color. But one time, she pointed to a pink object and said, "Pumpink!". "Huh?", my reaction was like that of Ross in that episode of the longest running TV series, Friends, The One With The Lottery. Rachel was on the phone with Emma, her baby with Ross, on the other end of the line. Rachel became ecstatic because, "Emma said her first word! ...Gliba!". And Ross was like, "Duhh?? Yeah, right.", and he turned his attention back to the Lottery Draw on TV, holding a few tickets, just like the rest of the Friends, Chandler, Monica, Phoebe, and Joey, hoping to get rich quickly.

I thought Queen was just mumbling or misheard "Pumpkin" with "Pumpink". After a few mentions of the color, I asked her, "Honey,

what is Pumpink?". She replied, "Color. Pumpink." So, I asked again,

"What is Pumpink?", and she pointed at the "Pumpink" object, looked at me and said smiling, "Pumpink!". Okay, I thought, I need to ask another question. "What else is Pumpink, dear?". Happily, with eyes wide open, she blurted out, "PlayDoh!".

So where else should I go? YouTube! I searched "PlayDoh" in YouTube, watched a few videos, and finally found this girl talking about a Pumpink PlayDoh. And she heard it right, it was Pumpink.

So how does it differ from Pink? Queen said, Pink is lighter and Pumpink is darker. And she likes Pumpink more.

So that's where I got that word and that's when our house started getting filled with Pumpink toys and stuff, to the dismay of her 2 elder brothers. And yes, she has a Pumpink Hat.

You know about the Girl in the Green Scarf? Well, she's the Queen with The Pumpink Hat. Thanks to Queen, I found a fitting title to my Blog!

The Pumpink Hat is also inspired by The Thinking Hats. I describe the Pumpink Hat as a combination of all the colors in The Thinking Hats, hence, a combination of its descriptions. Read more about my blog, "The 7th Thinking Hats", revised to include the Pumpink Hat.

Images from bloomberg.com, reallifeathome.com

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for reading. Please share this article to others who may be interested in it.

bottom of page